Le Food Drive

So it’s a funny thing paying for the person’s order behind you at the drive-thru for the first time.  I felt so giddy and I don’t even know why! I was debating on whether or not to do it the whole drive there to Dunkin Donuts, but then I was like, why the hell not?!! I paid for mine as well as the the person behind me and rushed out for a reason I do not know of and couldn’t stop smiling like a fool. My thoughts consisted of “omg omg omg omg omg omg.” My husband was in the passenger seat looking at me like I was insane. But I felt great and I can’t wait to do it again! I hope I made them smile at least a little.

The morning I paid for someone else's coffee and got my favorite mug. It was a great morning.

The morning I paid for someone else’s coffee and got my favorite mug. It was a great morning.

For this post, I thought I’d share our success of our first big project, our food drive. As I started BeTheGood Project, I wanted to spread kindness everywhere, but also give back to our community/our world in any way possible. The idea of a food drive popped in my head. It wasn’t too hard to find the Community Food Bank of NJ online. I read a lot about them and what kind of impact they are making. It is pretty incredible. Before reading about them, I had no idea that almost 900,000 people in the state itself relies on food banks. I had no question that I wanted us to be a part of it!

It was super easy to register and they were so nice when I called for any questions. At my job, HR was absolutely awesome for promoting our drive on the work newsletter and posting up flyers in every single refrigerator in the building. And within a week, we already had about 6 bags of food! I was actually surprised about how generous everyone was. By the end of the third final week, we had just about 20 bags of food! Not bad for our first food drive.

image

image

Now that we have the experience, I plan to make our future food drive bigger and better. The lady at the Community  Food Bank of NJ mentioned that Lawrence and I could even volunteer next year for family day when he turns 6 years old, so we’ll definitely be there. Crazy how much we take for granted. Definitely makes you think twice about when we complain that we have “nothing to eat.”

image

Now onto the next big project!

Check out the Community Food Bank of New Jersey here: http://www.cfbnj.org

3 thoughts on “Le Food Drive

  1. SUCH a successful first food drive! And you without a doubt brightened that person’s day behind you. I like to think they told other people and inspired even more people to do something kind 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment